Shadow Creek High School Athletics


Taylor head 24-5A girls' hoop picks


The Alvin Sun | 3/13/2019

PHOTO CREDIT: Shadow Creek High School Athletics

Manvel and Shadow Creek both delivered history-making seasons on the court and the two area schools were recognized for their deep playoff runs by landing a combined 13 players on the All-District 24-5A Girls’ Basketball team.

Lady Maverick senior guard Mckinzie Green headed the local selections with the Texas A&M signee earning most valuable player honors, while Lady Sharks’ freshman point guard R`mani Taylor received the newcomer of the year award.

Manvel teammates joining Green on the first team were senior forward Anessa Dussette, junior post Ashlynn Freeman and senior guard/forward Deja Williams, while the SC first team honors also went to junior power forward Sydni John-Baptiste and sophomore forward Bre`yon White.

Joy Chanslor and Dani Perdomo made the second team cut, respectively, for Manvel and Trintee Jones and Da`nae Williams did likewise for Shadow Creek. Lady Mavs’ Alana Ervin and Milan Jackson gained honorable mention status, as well.

Area players named to the all-academic district list were Rachel Anderson (Shadow Creek), Baptiste, Brooklyn Brown (Shadow Creek), Chanslor, Jaylah Davis (Shadow Creek), Ervin, Dussette, Green, Jones, Perdomo, Taylor, White and Williams.

The co-champion Lady Mavs went 37-4 and advanced to the Region III finals for the second time in school history with playoff victories over Houston Northside (82-33), Friendswood (65-33), Shadow Creek (66-51) and College Station (70-57).

The Lady Sharks finished as 24-5A’s fourth seed after topping Angleton (43-36) in a play-in game and then went on to defeat Houston Madison (91-58) and Galveston Ball (59-47) to move into the third round of the playoffs for the first time in school history.

Other first teamers included Alicia Blanton (Foster), Aresa Gipson (Hightower), Destini Lombard (Hightower), Winnie Kuimi (Hightower) and Beyonce Perry (Angleton).

Hightower’s Taelor Purvis was named the league’s top offensive player, while the defensive nod went to Foster’s Micayla Hamilton and Savitria Williams, of Foster, was tabbed as the district’s coach of the year. The second team also included Reagan Blackburn (Terry), Sharlyne Dimalanta (Foster), Aleah Franklin (Hightower), Sydni Johnson (Hightower), Ciarra Mutshtashi (Lamar Consolidated) and Janija Polk (Marshall).

The honorable mention list was rounded out as follows: Angleton - Selena Chaney, Adriana Chavez and Olivia Dilworth; Foster - Jonisha Williams, Collins Clark and Imani Avery; Hightower - Morgan Strawder and Victoria Chidomere; Lamar Consolidated - Armani McNeal, Faith Ojulape and Hannah Humphrey; Marshall - Asi... Click here to read full article